PDA

View Full Version : Another question about leather grips...

aznspongehead
10-04-2006, 06:43 PM
Well guys, figured I'd make this my first post since I couldn't really find the info I need in other threads.

I have a pretty heavy racket, especially for a beginner. I've been playing for three months and I'm already using a LM prestige... mine strung with the wilson pro grip is around 13 ounces (i guess the racket was heavier than the standard..). It probably isn't even a good idea for me to be using this "player's" racket, but I really like the feeling when I get a good shot with it, so I'm sticking to it.

I've been reading about tennis, and I found out that I need a bigger grip. Currently I have a 4 3/8, and while it feels fine with a new overgrip, it starts to get really uncomfortable in around a week when the overgrip gets compressed. From what I've read, normally you'd just put on a "heat shrink sleeve". The problem for me though is I really don't want to add anymore weight to my racket, and I think I've read somewhere that one of those adds an extra ounce. There's just no way, my wrist is already hurting from all the topspins and slices I've been trying to do. As a result I'm looking into a leather replacement grip, since I think those can increase the grip size... and I'll just put one of my overgrips over it.

Given my situation, is the leather grip + overgrip a good idea? (if so, which leather grip should i get to increase grip size the most while adding the least weight?) If not, what are some other options?

Thanks in advance. :)

joeyscl
10-04-2006, 07:10 PM
don't break your wrist----get a lighter racquet

POGforEver
10-04-2006, 07:59 PM
Leather grips are generally thinner than synthetic grips and also, if I remember correctly, they are also heavier. Did you weigh your LMP on a digital postal scale because 13oz with just an overgrip sounds kind of high. And sleeves are around 12-15 grams, I use them on my POGs...Good luck!

thejackal