PDA

View Full Version : Relative tension between strings immidiately after stringing?

pmata814
10-06-2006, 06:31 AM
I'm new to stringing. Last night, after stringing my Diablo MP with PSGD 16 @ 60lbs., I took a tension meter and used it to check the relative tension between each string. They were off by quite a bit. For example, the cross in the middle of the racquet measured 33 then the next cross 23 and continued to vary erratically. The mains weren't off by that much; however, they were much tighter than the crosses at 44. I never checked the tension on the racquets when strung by the shop but I assume this is not normal. Or is the tension supposed to even out only after hitting with the racquet?

I use an Alpha Axis Pro. I (literally) count between 8 to 10 seconds before clamping each string after tensioning it. I tried to be as precise as possible. I don't think the string was slipping because at one point I marked it with a sharpie and did not see the mark move until after I released the clamp. I haven't played with the racquet so I don't know how it's going to feel but still...I would like to improve my consistency from string to string. What am I doing wrong? Can someone help with this please? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

LttlElvis
10-06-2006, 06:56 AM
What you are experiencing is not uncommon. Measure the string tension right after stringing, then one hour later without hitting, and you will get tension loss. Even more on the more flexable strings.

Using a crank is all about consistency. Waiting 8 to 10 seconds is fine if you are consistant about it. Sting tension actually slowly decreases then levels off. Try using a digital fish scale and experiment. You will be amazed at how the quickly the tension drops right after lockout. This is due to string stretch.