PDA

View Full Version : grommet keeps coming out when I try to tension string

weed
10-18-2006, 09:16 AM
What do I do when a grommet pulls out of the frame with the string when I tension it? It's my first time stringing a brand new racquet and since a grommet near the throat is not bent, it keeps pulling out so that when I tension the string it touches the frame. I tried bending the grommet like it would be if the racquet had already been strung before but it still pulls out and I tried just putting pressure on it with my fingers but it was too hard to keep it in. What do you guys do?

snoflewis
10-18-2006, 09:30 AM
What do I do when a grommet pulls out of the frame with the string when I tension it? It's my first time stringing a brand new racquet and since a grommet near the throat is not bent, it keeps pulling out so that when I tension the string it touches the frame. I tried bending the grommet like it would be if the racquet had already been strung before but it still pulls out and I tried just putting pressure on it with my fingers but it was too hard to keep it in. What do you guys do?

it was like that w/ my 03HTs. before i tension it, i push the grommet in w/ my thumb, and then tension...it works for me.

psp2
10-18-2006, 10:36 AM

A similar thing happened to me. I replaced a grommet set on a POG mid and started to string it with gut. I got to the 8T main and "pop" goes the gut!! The tensioning string pushed the grommet back into the hole, hence the gut got sliced by the frame. Lesson learned.

As someone mentioned, you can pull tension VERY slowly while pushing on the grommet from the back (use a strong blunt object, if necessary). Worked for me.

Valjean
10-18-2006, 11:31 AM
You should also stick your awl through the grommet, enlarging it so it adheres somewhat to the frame.

Jerry Seinfeld
10-18-2006, 11:39 AM
Sadly some grommets are prone to pulling through the frame. Pretty frustrating, isn't it?