PDA

View Full Version : Want to try poly strings...opinions?

pickles1107
10-19-2006, 06:05 AM
Hi all,
First a little background:
I am 20 and I've been playing tennis casually for about 8 years. Always used cheap synthetics. I'm playing more and more now (about 4 times/week) and want to try poly strings to see what all the rave is about. My game is mostly baseliner but will come to net if given the oportunity. Nice topspin forehand (semi-western i think) and weak 2hbh.
Right now I'm playing Gamma TNT2 17 at 57 pounds in my Mfil 200 (18*20) because I got a bunch of free packs with my stringer.

I found a reel of CyberFlash 17 for around $50 and alot of people seem to like this string.

I would also be interested in trying SPPP, Luxilon, super smash honey/spikey, TF Redcode, Gosen Polylon SP, etc.

I also read that people don't like full poly jobs in dense patterns. What is the basis for this?

Anybody care to comment?

alan-n
10-19-2006, 06:13 AM
Polys are very stiff, dense patterns feel like you are hitting with a board. Lower tension with polys help but it doesn't make the string any less stiffer than it is. If you decide to go full poly, string it at least 5lbs lower.... don't be afraid to string it 8lbs lower than you normally do with other strings. If you end up thinking polys are too stiff than try a hybrid setup or just give up on polys.

Valjean
10-19-2006, 10:53 AM
There isn't a "rave" about polys; there is a necessity, though--provided you break your string so frequently you don't know what to do. The trade-off, more often than not, is significant shoulder and arm trouble, sooner or later. Do a board search here for more on it.

whomprat
10-19-2006, 11:29 AM