PDA

View Full Version : String Advice For Prince O3 White

TERRYTOPSPIN
10-25-2006, 08:45 PM
Hi everyone! I have been playing Tennis for many years but have not played more than maybe once a year since I was 18 (am 38 now) I was one of the top JR players in my age bracket/area when I was 16. I use to play with a Prince Pro back in the 80ís (REMEMBER THAT STICK?). When I decided to get serious about my Tennis again I recently purchased a Prince Bandit TT about 4 months ago. Liked it because it was so light but soon discovered it had a little too much power for single play! But after getting my swing back, I decided to demo some of the new Prince O3 models and fell in love with the O3 white. The problem I am having in string choice. My problems are
1. Durability (I go through most string in about 1-2 weeks)
2. Playability (the thicker the gauge the more chance I am going long a lot)
3. String Movement (some strings move so much the drive me nuts! I want to play! I donít want to fix my strings for half the time I should be ready for the next point).

I hit very hard with a ton of topspin the strings I have tried and donít care for are:

Prince topspin w/without duraflex 16 (goes long/breaks)
Wilson NXT (hate the feel) 16 (goes long)
Gamma Infinity 18,17,16 Natural (Love the feel and playability, can use them but they start to move in an hour then break)
Prince synthetic gut 16 (can use it but brakes way to easy)

I always string at MAX because I try to dampen my natural power as much as possible to help keep the ball in the court. I am going to try Nadalís string next. But before I go spending a fortune trying to find the right string combination, can anyone offer some advice for someone like me?

Swissv2
10-25-2006, 08:49 PM
O3 has a lot of power, so if you get a poly or poly hybrid that will allow you to rip a shot but keep it in the court. Poly also helps with durability. Unfortunately it is a dead string and sometimes lack feel and playability.