PDA

View Full Version : Stringing machine?

federer24
10-31-2006, 02:46 AM
I'm a junior player and I'm spending more money than I would like on getting my rackets strung. Is it worthwile investing in a stringing machine? My budget is 100 ( $200 ) I'm from Britain !
How hard is it to string a racket and how long will it take?

pmata814
10-31-2006, 05:01 AM
I suppose you could do the math of how many times a month you are stringing and how much the total cost is...but for me just having the ability to experiment with different strings & tensions... and not having to wait for my racquet to be strung makes it worth it.

It takes me about 45 minutes, by the way I'm also new to stringing, but I string on an upright crank machine (Alpha Axis Pro). With your budget you would have to go with something like a Klippermate and I don't know how much harder it would be to string on a machine like that. I did get to string with a FIXED clamp dropweight, before I upgraded to the Axis Pro, and though it's a bit more cumbersome It's still enjoyable. Just not as much as a crank ;)

federer24
10-31-2006, 05:37 AM
Well since I'm now using gut I'll probably be spending $70 or more a month. I would like to experiment with different tensions and strings so it probably is a good idea. Do you know any sites which take you through step by step about stringing? Do Tennis Warehouse ship to the UK?If not do you know any international sites where I can look at the Klippermate.
Thanks

theace21
10-31-2006, 06:04 AM
For under $200, take a look at the SP Swing. Not sure what shipping will run.

raiden031
10-31-2006, 06:14 AM