PDA

View Full Version : New Gamma 6004 in the House

varuscelli
11-04-2006, 02:10 AM
All right, this is not exactly the path I intended to take. All I wanted was a solid tabletop stringing machine -- not too expensive, but of good reputation for durability and reliability. I could have sworn what I was going to end up with was an Alpha Revo 4000 or a LaserFibre MS200TT.

So what do I have sitting in my house? A nearly brand new Gamma 6004 (latest model, 6-point mounting). The owner's manual shows Issue 5 - June 2006, so it can't be very old. The picture below is what it should look like after I get it assembled.

http://206.210.94.83/assets/product_full/MG63_06_large.jpg

According to the original owner (a stringer by trade), he used it to string exactly one racquet -- and I believe him. He could have told me it had never been used at all, and I would not have been able to tell from the look of all the parts (in the two boxes it came in). It looks as though it had never been assembled before. All the original parts and pieces, much of it wrapped in plastic, all of it packed in Styrofoam and boxed as if it had come straight from the manufacturer. Full set of tools, too, as packaged by Gamma.

I was content to wait until I found the right deal on a machine I had targeted, but was also trying to keep an open mind about options, and sure enough something came up (this Gamma 6004). I'm almost embarrassed to say what I paid for it, but after shipping and insurance it came out to about $150 more than a new Alpha Revo 4000 was going to cost me (after tax and shipping) and for less than a new Gamma 5003. If you do the math, you can see roughly what I paid.

I opened it up and took a look at everything last night and man, it looks like a nice machine. The turntable and hardware look sturdy and really well machined. Wow...