PDA

View Full Version : help with a new racquet

robstar
08-10-2004, 10:10 AM
HI, this is my first post. I'm a freshman getting ready to go into a D1 tennis program and i play 5.0 or 5.5 singles. I've been playing with a wilson hyper prostaff 5.0 stretch for probably around 4 years now, maybe more, but my elbow is killing me and it's a bit to powerful for me. i'm a all-courter, who plays mostly from the backcourt but does come in on my first serve pretty reguraly ,and i play a lot of doubles. anyways, i'm looking for a good stretch semi-players racket because i'll customize it anyway. Here's what i've looked at so far.
1. Babolat pure control mp +, it was ok but maybe not for me
2. Volkl Tour 8 or volk tour 8 v-engine, never tried a volkl
3. ProKennex 7g or PK Heritage Type SX, tried Sx, felt like a Pure Drive to me, a little thinner beam though
Any suggestions about other sticks or comments on the one's i listed will be greatly appreciated, thanks
Rob

08-10-2004, 10:46 AM
Fischer Pro Extreme FT.....awesome control, excellent vibration damping and very solid feel. Listed as 27.4" long but measures less and plays regular-length IMO

Lilhac16
08-10-2004, 11:15 AM
I was in the same position. First I switched to Pure Control+, but it didn't feel that great. Stick with a wilson. I am currently using the Hyper Prostaff 6.1, but you may want to try the Ncode sixone.

comeon787
08-10-2004, 03:49 PM
yeah maybe the nSix-One with lead tape at the throat

Jeffrey Wang
08-10-2004, 05:49 PM
HS 5.0 is a very light racquet and lacking stability even with its near even balance. You are not the only one I heard having the elbow/shoulder problem. I have played racquets you are considering and might be able to give you some feedback: