PDA

View Full Version : USTA Rating

MariaS
11-19-2006, 08:15 PM
I'm just new to USTA and have a very low ranking of 2.0. :grin:
I just finished playing in a 3.5 doubles league and am wondering what criteria will they use to give me a higher ranking? Anyone know?

cak
11-20-2006, 06:47 AM
USTA only gives ratings on National leagues. So I'm not sure if you were playing 3.5 seniors, which is a national league, or 7.0 mixed, which would get you a National mixed rating or a local doubles league. Or perhaps you were playing doubles in the adult 3.5 league, that does have singles also? Combo leagues are considered local leagues, and won't get you a NTRP rating.

If you were playing in a league that National recognizes, and you are new enough that your 2.0 rating is a self rating, and you were playing at the 3.5 level the system will toss the self rating and give you a rating based on the average of 2 or more matches played against 3.5s with computer ratings. If your 2.0 rating (long time members don't laugh, I've seen a few 2.0 computer rated players...) is a computer rating, the 3.5 matches will probably not count, as the differential between 2.0 and 3.5 is over the threshold the computer recognizes to generate a new DNTRP.

PBODY99
11-20-2006, 08:07 AM
Strange, the program hasn't been revamped to take into account self ratings. I had a member on a senior team self rate @ 2.0 and he went 3-3 in league play. I was told that he would have a computer rating at the start of 2007n in Middle States.

cak
11-20-2006, 08:21 AM
Strange, the program hasn't been revamped to take into account self ratings. I had a member on a senior team self rate @ 2.0 and he went 3-3 in league play. I was told that he would have a computer rating at the start of 2007n in Middle States.