PDA

View Full Version : Control with Babolat PD?

goosala
11-22-2006, 10:45 AM
How do you big hitters get any control with the Pure Drive? It's a big head, lightweight, and stiff frame. Also, the tension range is so low with that frame. It amazes me how the big hitters like Roddick can use it.

lenbo01
11-22-2006, 11:06 AM
i've been using a pd standard for the past 5 years, and i have a lot of lead tape on my pd, on the head and the butt cap. without the lead on it, it's hard to play with.

Bottle Rocket
11-22-2006, 02:30 PM
Spin.. Spin is the method for control on these things.

They are made based on the fact that people swing away most of the time with heavy top spin. Most of these modern rackets are terrible for flat hitters, especially the Pure Drive.

Roddick hits with an incredible amount of top spin.

bluegrasser
11-23-2006, 07:12 AM
Spin baby, lots of spin. I tried to like this stick but couldn't keep it in the court, but then again I'm not a spin Dr...

goosala
11-27-2006, 03:54 PM
Oh, that explains why flat hitters like me can not keep the ball in play.

Duzza
11-27-2006, 10:44 PM
I hit flat, and with the PD I HAVE to hit spin, or else.

davedave121
11-28-2006, 07:27 AM
i have my pd leaded up with 20 grams and with a nice balance and sw but still some flat shots are landing long so i decided to start a search for a new racquet because i've given up with my pd.

How do you compare the PD standard with the FXP prestige?

btw i'm a 4.5 player with heavy strokes with spin.

bcsax123
11-28-2006, 07:57 AM
I'm guessing FXP Prestige MP...

Serves: Both can serve bombs, Prestige giving a bit more control, and better for kicks than the PD, PD giving slightly more power.
Groundstrokes: PD because its just powerful and super spinny.
Volleys: Prestige dominated by far.
Spin: PD
Slice: Equal
Control: Prestige, PD has none.
Power: PD
Comfort: Both stiff, but Prestige is still more comfortable
Sweetspot: PD