PDA

View Full Version : Does Your Opinion Change WHEN...

Andy Zarzuela
08-13-2004, 10:56 AM
you see your oponent (or just anybody) playing with an light, big oversize racquet? Because when I was at Bollettieri, there was a kid in my group playing with a Hyper Hammer 6.3 OS and I figured he must not be good, but he beat everybody he played (I never got to play him unfortunately).
________
Drugtest (http://drugtestingkit.org)

NoBadMojo
08-13-2004, 11:47 AM
as a veteran, i can tell you that if you wish to play tennis for life, your success is gonna be pretty shortlived by taking the easy way out by going for stiff and powerful and oversized stuff where you really dont need good mechanics (there are exceptions of course)..you may thump some players initially w. your light and powerful gear, but things catch up and these kids w. the pd+'s strung w. alu are gonna wish they hadnt when their arms fall off and they are still in their 20's....and they are still stuck with a pure drive game. my .02. ed

@wright
08-13-2004, 12:28 PM
Well said, ed. Couldn't have said it better.

bigserving
08-13-2004, 01:12 PM
Andy - I feel ya. It is much like when someone shows to a tourney with one of those tiny old three racquet bags. Or when they show up wearing running shoes. When they show up with only one racquet. And the guy who spins his racquet and lets drop on the ground. I always think that it will be an easy day at the office!

BTW I lost to the guy wearing running shoes.

NoBadMojo
08-13-2004, 01:37 PM
thanks @wright for the props..exceedingly rare around these parts and much appreciated. hope you like your day. ed

AndyC
08-13-2004, 01:46 PM
NoBad.. I'm not sure I agree with you completely.. we're currently seeing a generation of pros for whom rackets similar to the Head Tour Prestige series were the norm and hence the ones they learnt to play with.