PDA

View Full Version : Babolat Pure Control Std & elbow probs

thejuice
11-25-2006, 05:26 PM
I am curious whether those that experienced TE using the Pure Control had the racquet strung with a solt multi, syn gut, or a poly. I'm trying to figure if it is mostly the racquet, or a bad choice in string.

The Dampener
11-25-2006, 06:56 PM
Juice...

Could be both. Babolats are a bit notorious for causing arm problems, mostly due to their stiffness. However, I have little experience with your frame.

As for strings, polys are generally the least arm-friendly and multis are typically an elbow sufferers best friend. You can also try dropping the tension in your strings. Lower tensions decrease vibration.

Good luck. I feel your pain.

Damp

thejuice
11-25-2006, 07:30 PM
Dampener,

Thanks for your response. I actually play with the Redondo Mid. I was just asking because I got a Pure Control in a trade for a couple of older sticks I had. I hit with it for a little while and felt a tingle in my arm (it could be due to me anticipating some pain). I restrung it today with Volkl Power-Fiber 17g at 52lbs. so we will see how it plays. I guess you can say I'm just experimenting.

superstition
11-26-2006, 08:53 AM
If you play with a Babolat you should use 17 gauge gut at a fairly low tension, period.

rounick
11-26-2006, 07:21 PM
Arm killer..

onkystomper
11-27-2006, 01:28 AM
The only Babolat i could string with anything but pur gut at low tensions is the pure storm. the APD an PD & APC just ripped my arm up.

Punisha
11-27-2006, 01:30 AM
lol what i thought when i saw the post was babolat pure control sexually transmitted disease...

coolblue123
11-27-2006, 05:04 AM
for me the newer version caused arm and shoulder problems. But really weird, but the older version which is more heavier and stiff was fine.... really weird...

jonolau
11-27-2006, 05:27 AM