PDA

View Full Version : Warrior & POG question

tenniko
11-26-2006, 09:16 PM
Hi, I have been playing with Warrior MP for about four years and I was thinking of trying some other frames out. I tried the Chang Longbody that I have played with before using TT Warrior but couldn't play with it (perhaps the length difference). Trying to stick with Prince, I was looking at POG, both MP and OS, since (most) everyone says it's a fantastic stick.

Has anyone ever played with Warrior (MP and/or OS) and POG (MP and/or OS)? If so, how do they compare, and what do you suggest? (I'm worried about the POG frame feeling too 'thin' for me).

Should I get POG longbody and cut it to 27.5 ~ 27.25?

I am around 4.5 and have a eastern-semiwestern forehand and two-handed backhand if that is a factor.

Any comments regarding questions above would be great.

Thanks for taking the time.

AndrewD
11-26-2006, 11:12 PM
tenniko,

I'm currently playing with the POG mid and trialling the TT Warrior MP (have also used the POG OS) so I might be of some help to you.

The one area I would consider the Warrior MP to outshine the POG mid/mp is at the net. As the TW review states, the Warrior has a natural affinity for net play and seems very well weighted in that regard. I can volley very well with the POG mid, however, there are few racquets that can match the Warrior in that department. So, if doubles or serve-volley is your game then the Warrior might be the better choice.

On groundstrokes, the slightly larger headsize and lighter weight of the Warrior MP does make it easier to swing fast and be aggressive on returns. However, it lacks the overall weight of the POG mid/mp and, as a result, I feel that while I might hit a 'faster' ball, I don't hit a 'heavier' one.