PDA

View Full Version : Is this shock-absorber on the top, legal for tournament-play?

jmsx521
11-29-2006, 03:42 PM
The link will be deleted in a week or so.

http://picasaweb.google.com/jmsx521/TennisRacketQuestion/photo#5002978271611453458

It's a double, or triple rubber-band tied-up.

I've been doing this for many years. The reason I have that way is because it gives me extra weight on the top of the racket, plus the muted feel that I like too. Thanks.

Redflea
11-29-2006, 03:45 PM
I believe the rule is you can't have anything on the crosses at the top or bottom, or on the mains at either side...dampeners have to be in the "open" area between the last string and the frame.

So I think what you're doing would be considered illegal...

tennisiscoolmtl
11-29-2006, 03:59 PM
Not true the rules are as fallows- You can have a shack dampener anywhere as long as it is no surronded by string... it has to be in the gap between string and frame but it can be anywhere on the raquet, Top bottom left or right

Noveson
11-29-2006, 04:25 PM
Man Jmsx how many freaking dampners do you need?

pNoyr3D
11-29-2006, 04:29 PM
Seriously lol!! That is a lot of dampeners. Anyways I thought the rule was that you aren't supposed to have a dampener over the first bottom string going horizontal..

aznspongehead
11-29-2006, 04:33 PM
Holy crap that's one dampened racket... I just put one on mine so the string wouldn't make that annoying sound.

Yeah I believe there shouldn't be any foreign objects above the bottom cross.

anirut
11-29-2006, 05:00 PM
Jmsx, may I ask what Dunlop is that? The 100G?

pNoyr3D
11-29-2006, 05:08 PM
Whoa you also have a wierd lead tape setup.. Never seen anyone do it that way before.. Lol.

EricW
11-29-2006, 05:28 PM
Whoa you also have a wierd lead tape setup.. Never seen anyone do it that way before.. Lol.

I've seen it many times.

AJK1
11-29-2006, 05:43 PM