PDA

View Full Version : What's the lowest tension you've strung at and been able to actually play?

TalkingTennis91
12-16-2006, 07:00 PM
I mean you people, personally. What's the lowest string tension you've ever played with? The highest? What was/were it/they like?

vkartikv
12-16-2006, 07:05 PM
lowest - 55 on my pc 600s. Highest - 66 on my prostaff mids - loved it. now im at 56 on my dnx 10 mps. The dnx 10 is here to stay.

p.s. pros might be able to play at the 40 lbs level but none of us here are pros.

jackson vile
12-16-2006, 07:10 PM
55 lmp+ tonic16g

Highest 58lbs hammer crap 18g PC600 (big mistake, I did not string it though)

jj300
12-16-2006, 07:14 PM
I routinley play at below 50lbs. One of the better players at the d1 level here uses gut/poly at 45lbs.

krprunitennis2
12-16-2006, 07:21 PM
Lowest I've played was 52. When I had 52 lbs of tension, I was a newbie so it was hard for me to control the ball directionwise, but it was really easy to keep the ball deep.

Highest I've played is 62 (currently). It feels like I get more spin with higher tensions compared to my tension two months ago (58), then a month ago (60-but I didn't feel any difference from 60 to 62 tension). I'm having trouble with keeping the ball very deep on my backhands (compared to 58 lbs), but I can create more angles on matches.

looseswing
12-16-2006, 08:33 PM
Lowest I played was 52, but I am sure the string lost a lot of tension because it was luxilon big banger alu rough and had it in for three weeks of playing every day.

federermcenroeagassi
12-17-2006, 06:41 AM
low 40's.......... lol

th____44
12-17-2006, 06:45 AM
lower tension i've strung....44 lbs....
lower tension i've play....probably about 30 lbs (due to tension loss)

TonyB
12-17-2006, 07:22 AM
I strung my Yonex RQ-120 with Gosen OG Sheep Micro 17g at 40 lb. mains and 38 lb. crosses.