PDA

View Full Version : Tension seems much higher on my stringer?

FH2FH
12-31-2006, 10:08 AM
Stringing noob here,
I just got a string pal and strung up a few racquets. The tension seems a lot higher than the string jobs I'm used to getting from the shops. Is this normal? They use clamp systems. Mine is obviously drop weight.

I used to get string jobs from D-i-c-k-s which were horrible and very loose; not that they are at all of them. The shop I've used for the last year string much tighter, seeming more accurate, but my drop weight jobs seem 10% or higher than that. The racquet has not imploded yet thankfully...;)

FH2FH
12-31-2006, 10:12 AM
...also, I started the mains in the right holes, but the tie offs seem to be at the head instead of the throat. Is this common? It's a m-fil plus. The bottom grommets outline where the strings should be. I skipped the right holes, 9 & 7. ??

Court_Jester
12-31-2006, 10:25 AM
Stringing noob here,
I just got a string pal and strung up a few racquets. The tension seems a lot higher than the string jobs I'm used to getting from the shops. Is this normal?
Did you use a tension calibrator before you laid down the scale sticker on the bar? You can't just put the sticker on and expect to the machine to give you an accurate value for the tension.

Court_Jester
12-31-2006, 10:30 AM
...also, I started the mains in the right holes, but the tie offs seem to be at the head instead of the throat. Is this common?
Some PK racquets are like that.

This is actually a good thing since it allows you to use the regular 1-piece stringing without putting more stress on the upper hoop and without resorting to the ATW pattern.

FH2FH
12-31-2006, 10:36 AM
No, there was already a sticker on it for Kg's, so I converted Kg to Lbs, and put the sticker in the relative place. The only other thing I can think is that when the level drops, it's stretching the string more than a clamp would. ?
...or maybe it is just calibrated way too high?

FH2FH