PDA

View Full Version : I STINK in my first set

Skinny Dip
08-22-2004, 07:49 PM
Wow - this has gone beyond frustrating. I've been playing (on and off) for 30 years and have never had this problem before. But for the last 5 months playing 3 times a week, every (and I mean EVERY) first set I play I get blown out. Typically 6-0, 6-1 up to 6-2.

Most often I come back and take the next 2 sets, but I can't to a freaking thing during the first one. I seem to mishit, and miss my shots wide, long, or in the net all by a few inches.

And yes, every time I come out, I plan to play conservatively, hitting my shots with pace 3 feet within the lines etc. But even so, I end up getting pushed around and have to get back into a more aggressive mode and miss and mishit my shots.

Typically I'll come back and win the second set by a similar margin, and then most often the 3rd set by a tighter margin.

But since this happens EVERY time and just started maybe 5-6 months ago, I'm absolutely mystified (and horrified). Has this happened to anyone else? Or anyone else you've even heard about?

goober
08-22-2004, 08:09 PM
maybe you need to warm up more :?:

I usually play bad the first set if I take off a long time from tennis and start playing again.

TwistServe
08-22-2004, 08:35 PM
I usually have problems the first few games.. I either get broken or should have broken the guy, but because of nerves or lack of rythym, I mess up.. But after a few games I can usually calm down and the blood becomes warm..

Bungalo Bill
08-22-2004, 10:57 PM
maybe you need to warm up more :?:

I usually play bad the first set if I take off a long time from tennis and start playing again.

Skinny,

Goober gave you a great and intelligent tip.

I think you need to warmup longer before you play as well. I had this problem and the problem would get magnified when I played someone who knew how to mix speeds a lot. I played more against myself then my opponent in the first set.