PDA

View Full Version : Borg vs. Wilander

Zimbo
01-26-2007, 02:59 PM
I started playing and watching tennis in the mid 80’s, so I never had the chance to really watch Borg play. However, I remember how people would always compare Wilander’s game to that of Borg. Some would say Wilander had more of a complete game, while some would say Wilander was just a mini version of Borg. I recently joined this forum and read similar sentiments when the two are compared. So for those who were lucky enough to have seen both players play can you give me a comparison?

Compare
1. Forehands
2. Backhand
3. Volleys
4. Serves
5. Foot speed
6. Mental toughness
7. Anticipation
8. Strategies
9. Endurance
10. Return of serve

Another question. Why do so many people believe Borg left the game because he knew he couldn’t compete anymore with McEnroe? If Borg was that much better then Wilander, as most people believe, wouldn’t Borg still be able to beat Mac, cause Wilander did have a pretty good h2h with Mac (6-7).

Rabbit, Five0, OrangeOne, Moose, etc…….. I would love to hear from you guys.

snapple
01-26-2007, 03:22 PM
Wilander is my alltime favorite player...will provide you with a shot by breakdown when I have a bit more time but the short answer is that Borg did most things a smidgen better than Mats.

stormholloway
01-26-2007, 03:26 PM
Borg just burnt out. He played from quite a young age and dominated for a while. Borg was quicker than Wilander and perhaps even more consistent, but I'm a huge Wilander fan. Wilander proves that Borg's game would have been plenty good enough to beat more modern players like Lendl.

Moose Malloy
01-26-2007, 03:28 PM
Rabbit, Five0, OrangeOne, Moose, etc…….. I would love to hear from you guys.

I must be so predictable, becuase I was already about to respond before reading the last line.

My 2 cents-Borg was better in almost everything, & I think Wilander was a fine player.