PDA

View Full Version : need help

dminh01
08-28-2004, 09:56 AM
Hi there.I am a international student who has been in USA for over 1 year.I am trying to find a hitting friend because I do not know anyone near here that can hit with me in my level.(I am about 4.5).My question is how do you guys find a partner to play with.Can I find a tennis friend by joining a club.Please help.Thanks alot.
By the way I live in Bethesda,MD,20817 if anyone live near here wanted to hit with me.Thanks

papa
08-28-2004, 02:44 PM
One thing you can do that is very effective is to print, or have printed. business cards with your name, tel #, e-mail, level along with a line expressing your interest in playing singles, doubles or hitting (or all three). Put them up on bulletin boards or at local clubs - you should get calls because finding people is a constant problem.

Other place to drop off cards is at private courts, YMCA's. high schools and colleges.

Good luck.

pchoi04
08-29-2004, 01:31 AM
I would say join a club... They should have some sort of roster sheet with contact info and some info about the player... Mostly just NTRP rating or something and I'm sure the pros at the club will help you find a partner...

dminh01
08-29-2004, 08:07 AM
thanks for this info.And if you are joining a club,what quality of a club are you usually loking at.

goober
08-29-2004, 08:51 AM
thanks for this info.And if you are joining a club,what quality of a club are you usually loking at.

There are several levels you can join at. Private clubs are the best but they are the most expensive. The clubs in my area cost around $800-1000 to join and $99-150/month. However all these clubs have nonmember options which is what you probably want to do. They allow you to go to clinics and drop-in play but you have to pay at a slightly higher rate than the members, but only for the sessions you actually do. This option is good if you only want tennis and don't need the gym/spa/social aspects of the club.