PDA

View Full Version : ADVICE ON NEW RACKET for Beginer-intermediate

ILYAILYA
09-03-2004, 07:20 AM
Hey guys, you must hear this every week, but I need some advice. I recently started playing tennis and its great. IT is a very good exercise, and is fun too. I bought a (cheap) prince racket but playing with it is impossible: it is too light, and strings on it fly apart after each time i hit the ball, So i m guessing that i m having problems cause of it. Since I hit same way yet ball does not really go the way i want it to, and other times it does.

Anyways I was wondering if some one would recommend me a nice racket for under $75 bux (maybe even used) . I don't particularly need a beginner racket, but I looked up some specs, and this is what they said : Composite or graphite, around 11 ounces, balance ( close to even ) , frame( stiff, to very stiff) , string pattern 16, or 18 mains, head( 95-110) , length 27-27.5

THE WAY I PLAY: I am regular built, 5'10 , around 170 lbs, so far I play like 1-2 x a week for 2-3 hours.
I usually play all over the court, I like to be able to hit the ball hard, although I don't always do it, I need some control too, and some spin once in while, basically I want the all around racket, that I can play near net, away from net, hit hard/slow, have control / spin etc..

If some one has some suggestions I would really appreciate it.
I read somewhere about head Radical OS, and Prince Thundercloud, also wilson hammer 5.3,
so any tips would be helpful,

thank you
Ilya

kevhen
09-03-2004, 07:41 AM
11 ounce, even balance sounds good. Lighter racquets twist too much and don't have much control or enough power.

I started out (well I was 3.5 already though) with a 10.5 ounce evenly balanced Volkl Q8 (after much demoing 3 years ago) and now as a 4.0 use a 11.5 ounce slightly headlight Volkl T8 after adding some tape to the frame sides. Both are 27.5 inches in length.