PDA

View Full Version : rib pain/discomfort

lendl lives
03-11-2004, 10:13 AM
recently i've noticed i have this rib pain or discomfort really. i notice a pain in my left mid rib section at times when i breath or move in certain ways. anyone know what this is and how i can get rid of it. its been bothering me for a couple of days now. again its not intense pain or anything more of discomfort (ie i can play through it).
tks!!!!!!!

lendl lives
03-11-2004, 10:15 AM
could doing curls with dumbels (25lbs each) cause this? now that i thing about it i remeber having this pain before and i think it was after lifting weights w/o warming up. i'm not sure though.....serve motion maybe?

James Brown
03-11-2004, 12:17 PM
its most likely posture related. Im no expert, but i had similar pain to what youre describing. i noticed (after living with the pain for a while) that i had my upper body shifted to my left. kinda slouching to the left. I straightened myself up and pain seems to dissapear. You could also have gotten like a stich or pulled a muscle dealy. Take a break from lifting and right your posture, see if it works. Cheers

lendl lives
03-11-2004, 12:26 PM
james,

as i was reading your post i noticed i was slouching to the left...tks for the post.

lendl lives
03-16-2004, 11:56 AM
boy this pain hasn't gone away yet and its been a week. i guess i'll stop playing for a week and if it doesn't get better go to the doc. could it be a respiratory issue? the pain comes and goes and it is focused on the lower left rib cage.

Mike Hughes
03-16-2004, 03:50 PM
Is this pain sharp, dull, or an ache? Is it in the front or the back of your body? Does it get aggravated with taking a breath in? Does any specific arm movement bother it?

lendl lives
03-17-2004, 10:54 AM