PDA

View Full Version : Highschool Tennis coach, and players....tell me something

Mr. Blond
03-31-2007, 06:02 AM
If you're a coach, do you specify a shoe for your players?

Players, what is the protocol on your team?

I am a coach and am trying to decide on uniforms for next year, and shoes are a big question mark.

thanks in advance

300Gkid
03-31-2007, 06:14 AM
nope, any tennis shoes are acceptable for our team, actually i dont think he cares but the best players wear tennis shoes anyway so......

chadilac
03-31-2007, 06:48 AM
as of this year the school tennis team i play on can wear any tennis shoe. but next year we might be sponsored by adidas hopefully. then it would be a different story. I have also heard of tennis teams that require their players to wear specific shoes.

pNoyr3D
03-31-2007, 07:31 AM
Well our tennis team wears any shoes we want, it really matters on how dedicated people are when playing tennis.

tennis_nerd22
03-31-2007, 08:01 AM
Well our tennis team wears any shoes we want, it really matters on how dedicated people are when playing tennis.

exactly

(10 char)

SteveI
03-31-2007, 08:16 AM
exactly

(10 char)

I coach two teams.. the only thing I do is take a player aside if they are using a "running" type of shoe and make sure they know they should be playing a court shoe.

Regards,
Steve

yonex90
03-31-2007, 08:56 AM
I wouldn't mandate shoes unless its necessary. Different players like different shoes. We are split between Addidas and Nikes and guys prefer one are the other. It may mess with their game to swith because the feel is totally different.

p0w3r
03-31-2007, 09:21 AM

same...the few singles players wear barricades...i wear new balance court shoes since its cheaper. Everyone else just wears whatever...lots use basketball shoes.

I never seen a team with uniform shoes in high school.

Kaptain Karl
03-31-2007, 09:30 AM
I'm a HS Coach. "Nope."

Colleges might have that kind of budget. We don't.

- KK

pNoyr3D
03-31-2007, 09:35 AM