PDA

View Full Version : Fellow Pure Control Aficionados...

jcstennis
04-05-2007, 10:57 AM
stringing recommendation...

i have a PC team standard...play it stock with an overgrip. i'm a 3.5-4.0. play a semi-westen 1HFH and a 1HBH. the biggest part of my game is my serve.

i am going to try a hybrid string job... strings i have recently used have been (full job): NRG2 17g, X-1 17g, SPPP 17g.

I am looking at trying Lux ALU and NXT Tour... or Hurricaine Pro (Blue) and Xcel. (These both come in duo packs or half packs) or i can buy 2 full sets and split 'em.) I would probably string the M's w/ poly @ 56-58lbs. And the X's w/ multi @ 58-60lbs.

Any recommedndations?

thanks!

Bottle Rocket
04-05-2007, 11:33 AM
Sounds a little high on the tensions to me, but I'll be interested to know how it plays. I haven't tried a hybrid in my PC.

I'll be testing out some Cyberflash in mine tonight at 54 lbs. I've never tried Cyberflash before so I am interested to see how it compares to ALU.

jcstennis
04-05-2007, 12:41 PM
Sounds a little high on the tensions to me, but I'll be interested to know how it plays. I haven't tried a hybrid in my PC.

I'll be testing out some Cyberflash in mine tonight at 54 lbs. I've never tried Cyberflash before so I am interested to see how it compares to ALU.

I played with SPPP (FJ) @ 52lbs (roughly mid tension -10%) in my Pure Storm. And it worked out nice.

The set up i have in the PC now (they way i received it) is SPPP hex in mains, Gamma ESP crosses @ 54lbs each. It feels a little soft/mushy and too low tension-wise.

So, i was thinking 56M's (poly), 58X's (multi). I will see how this goes.

My guy does not carry Cyberflash... i would like to see how it works for you... maybe i will find some and try it out.:grin:

How do you like the ALU? (i will search your PC reviews also);)

Bottle Rocket
04-05-2007, 02:36 PM
If I like the Cyberflash I am going to buy a reel... If I do I can probably spare a set for a fellow PC'er... :)