PDA

View Full Version : Ive made up my mind, time for a new Racket?

darknight08
04-08-2007, 09:49 AM
Hey guys..
Ive been playing tennis for about 3 years
I started out with a walmart type for a month or so
Then, I switched to the Wilson H Wave which i believe is in the Hyper Hammer series. Here are the stats for the racket:

The H Wave offers excellent touch, feel and control. Continuing in the traditional Hammer mold, the H Wave produces a stable feel from all areas of the court, without sacrificing maneuverability. Features Wilson's ISOGRID frame construction which is designed to enhance frame stiffness for more power. A good fit for 4.0 level players with a full stroke style and moderate swing speed.

Specifications:

Headsize: 100
Length: 27.5
Weight Strung: 283g/(9.9 oz.)
Beam Width: 27.5mm Dual Taper Beam
Balance: 3 points Head Heavy
Power Level: Medium
Stiffness/Flex: 74
Frame Technology: Hyper Carbon, Hammer,ISOGRID
Composition/Construction: 100% Graphite w/ISOGRID
Swing Weight: 320
Swing Speed: Moderate-Fast
Swing Type: Moderate
String Pattern(Mains X Crosses): 16 x 20
Recommended String Tension: 53-63 lbs.

I have really liked this racket. The thing now though, is that there arent many HWaves left and I want to move onto a different series or a maybe so a different brand. Please Help me broaden my racket knowledge horizon. Ive been reading up on the [K]rap and most of that stuff does not impress me. What should i do?

fgs
04-08-2007, 10:14 AM
darknight08,
don't let yourself be [k]onfused by that [k]rap thing - that mainly about marketing hype and has no influence on how the racquets really play.
in my opinion a good way to go would be the ntour 95, which is a "players racquet" and worth every penny of the currently usd90 it is sold at. the reason is that it has been "superseeded" by the ntour two, which is only by a slight margin better.
you might also like the nsix-two, or if you have a rather full swing at the ball you could also look into the nblade.