PDA

View Full Version : Please, help to find the right one

RedKat
04-10-2007, 07:39 AM
Here is my problem. I got a nasty shoulder injury some years ago (torn labrum). After having a surgery, post-op recovery, PT, etc, eventually, I started playing again a couple of years ago. I was not able to use PS 6.0 85 that I have played with before the injury. I have switched to i.Prestige that gave me definitely more power on the serve and ground strokes. Still there was not enough power on the serve; moreover, my shoulder was hurting every time I played. Then I have tried a PD and was using it quite successfully for more then a year; I found the lacking power and my shoulder felt OK. But then another problem has appeared: a really bad tennis elbow. So, I switched to PK5G and gradually TE has disappeared. But now again, I miss that serving power of PD. When I try to serve harder and force it a bit my shoulder feels really bad.
Please, advise what kind of racket I should get. I need something as light and powerful as PD but definitely much easy on the arm. I am not looking at other sticks of PK because they are out of business and it is almost impossible to get them here in Europe (my PK5G I got online without demoing, because I new it was a sure bet TE therapy-wise).

bad_call
04-10-2007, 07:53 AM
for ur TE, i suggest a softer flex racquet. i use a Volkl and am quite happy with it. btw - what is ur skill level? can't really recommend a "player's" racquet if ur not up to it.

my gf had rotator cuff surgery and i've been teaching her a better serving motion. her serve has increased in pace and her shoulder feels better with the change. however she needs to continue practicing til it becomes 2nd nature to her and she doesn't revert back to old ways. anyway u might want to get some serving lessons from a tennis coach who's in the know when it comes to serving.

good luck.

RedKat
04-10-2007, 08:28 AM