PDA

View Full Version : Racquet For doubles Mid?

Final_Match_Point
04-14-2007, 07:57 AM
Ive been using a PD Roddick STD for about 6 months now, and I enjoy it in singles, I was thinking of playing more doubles, and I feel the lack of control when going for line shots.

I was thinking of trying the Redondo C 93 or 98 I've looked at reviews for both, but im still undecided. Can anyone help?

Duzza
04-14-2007, 08:09 AM
Nothing beats a POG Mid at the net if you're only looking at Mid's ;)

But I doubt you're into the POG if you're using something as modern as a PD. Just think about what things make a good volleying racquet and go from there? IMO it's:

85-95 in headsize
heavy stock weight (over 12 oz)
decent stiffness (too flexy makes it tough)
HL balance (a must for net maneuvrability I find)

Racquets that come to mind:

Wilson PS 6.0 95
Wilson kSix-One 95
Prince Tour Diablo
Yonex Ti-80 (I know its a 98 headsize but very solid)
Head Flexpoint Prestige Mid
Yonex RDS 001 Midsize

Duzza
04-14-2007, 08:21 AM
Ive been using a PD Roddick STD for about 6 months now, and I enjoy it in singles, I was thinking of playing more doubles, and I feel the lack of control when going for line shots.

I was thinking of trying the Redondo C 93 or 98 I've looked at reviews for both, but im still undecided. Can anyone help?
Redondo, even though I haven't tried it, I think may be a bit too flexy for "doubles" style volleying. Singles could be ok, since you've got a lot less angles to cover and such.

Roger_Federer.
04-14-2007, 08:31 AM
A ksix one 95

rabidcow
04-14-2007, 11:30 AM
hey take a look at the laver type S as well from PK, solid racket very similar to the PD

nickb
04-14-2007, 11:38 AM
IMO you can add the k90 to that list....great volleying racket and good from the back of the court.

chair ump
04-14-2007, 12:09 PM
Slazenger X-1. 95 in head. Maneuverable and solid feel. Great for singles and excels in doubles.

Redflea
04-14-2007, 12:53 PM