PDA

View Full Version : I Need Serving Tips...

RoddickOwnzYou
09-14-2004, 02:47 PM
Hi All. I have developed my own serving motion, completely self taught, and while it does yield decent results at times, i know i'm doing many things wrong. I've been told i have a very "windmill" like motion. I take the racquet back and through in a very roundhouse type way, without ever really "scratching my back" with the racquet. My toss is one of my main problems. I consistenly toss it too low, and am also already starting my swing at the ball while it is still moving up into the air. The things i do well are few, but my grip is definitely solid, my wrist snap through the ball is good, and i finish in the right position most of the time (racquet low, wrist pronated and turned through the ball). I've been working on tossing into the court more and using my body to get better rotation and more power, but my toss is too low and my move to fast and windmill like to get any really good power. If theres any tips you guys can give me on the toss, and how to scratch your back with your racquet, with that 3-step serving motion, it would be MUCH appreciated.

Rickson
09-14-2004, 02:57 PM
I'll add more later, but if you don't bring the racquet down to your back, you won't get good acceleration on the serve.

Bungalo Bill
09-14-2004, 03:31 PM
I'll add more later, but if you don't bring the racquet down to your back, you won't get good acceleration on the serve.

Rickson,

You really need to take the time and study tennis. It might help if you took all of your tips and checked to see if they are simply myths that sound good or are reality.