PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Starting Late

chipsbuzz
05-02-2007, 08:58 AM
I'm a freshman in college and picked up tennis last spring (so senior year of highschool). It's sort of a sad thought that I got exposed to the game really late, but I'm trying to catch up fast. I also hope to get on the team next year and plan on taking lessons over the summer and fall.

I just want to know any advice or tips/drills that'll help my overall game. I know I should practice and play matches a lot, which I do. Generally I put in 20+ hours a week with just practice/rallying/serve-time and at least another 5 on match play against various people, whether that may be random people I meet at the courts or people I get together with from my intermediate tennis class (some of which are on the tennis team here).

For any lack of experience I have, I have been told that I make it up with my quick-reflexes, hand-eye coordination, and persistancy. I just love the game and it seems to come natural to me.

Is it bad to use both the 2hbh and 1hbh? Generally if it's too high I like to drive it in with a low flat shot with a 2hbh and for lower shots I use 1 hbh. I know this probably isn't recommended because they say thinking of which bh to use will cut on time to set up, but as soon as i see the ball clear the net (and how they hit the ball), my hands just seem to adjust as need be.

Does anyone else here use a Head LM radical (it's not oversize)? Topspin isn't really my friend since I like hitting low and close to the net, but I figured it should be added to my arsenal of shots. If anyone does have this racquet, is this racquet easy to get topspin on?

I think that's all I've got for now... Any thoughts would be grateful.

w00gy
05-02-2007, 09:19 AM