PDA

View Full Version : Customization problems with M Fil 300

powten
05-03-2007, 12:40 PM
Hi everyone,
I had written a longer post, but it disappeared before submitting.
I am currently playing with an M Fil 300, I am 18 years old, not very strong (65 kg only), and I have a correct level of play, around 5.0

I have ben playing with this stick for 6 months now, but I quickly started to put huge amounts of lead, finding the racquet too light and not stable enough:
-12 grams above the handle
-3 grams at 3, 3 grams at 9
-12 grams at 12
all in one time

At first, that setup was really nice! I had more power, more stability, the stick was more solid and heavier than before.
My level of play overall increased during this winter.

But one week ago, I started playing outdoors, on clay. And the racquet was so hard to move around! I am more of a clay courter, and I wanted to use my wrist more on clay to put more spin, but I just couldn't do it. The stick was too heavy and my performance was really terrible. Moreover, now matches are on clay and they are longer, and it has become too hard for me to handle the stick during the entire match.

Now that you know the situation, let me ask some questions:
-Did I put too much lead?
-Where do I need to put lead and what amounts do I have to put if I want to decrease the overall weight without losing too much of the solidness, stability at impact, power...?
-Are the places where I put lead "understandable"? I mean, can you understand the fact that I put lead at 3, 9, 12 and on top of the handle, or is lead at some of these locations just unuseful?
-Does putting small amounts of lead really change something on the racquet (eg 5 grams), or do I need to put larger amounts of lead to have effective changes?
-Do I need to start playing table tennis?

ibringtheHEAT
05-03-2007, 12:47 PM
Hi everyone,
I had written a longer post, but it disappeared before submitting.