PDA

View Full Version : Lawsuit over Battle of the Surfaces

JRstriker12
05-04-2007, 06:30 AM
Check this out: http://www.tennis.com/news/news.aspx?id=76932

I doubt that that pro was the only one to have the idea for the Fed/NAdal, Grass/Clay battle but she may have a reasonable complaint if she really has the patent on that type of court.

This should be interesting. I bet IMG settles out of court and the teaching pro gets a pay-day.

Gugafan_Redux
05-04-2007, 07:11 AM
I heard it was Richard Williams' idea.

Also, Al Gore invented the grass court.

norcal
05-04-2007, 07:13 AM
I'm surprised someone would want to take credit for such a dumb idea.

JRstriker12
05-04-2007, 07:33 AM

I doubt she wants the credit... just the money.

forzainter
05-04-2007, 07:36 AM
im sure there is more than one person has patented this in different places, she obviously didnt make it big in pro tennis and now she wants money

Serve 'em hard
05-04-2007, 07:50 AM
I'm not a lawyer, but from my limited understanding of such issues, one can't really patent "ideas" (though one can copyright full fledged products and books and songs, of course) and she has no case. For instance, here's another similar idea: All four Slam surfaces on one court, red clay on one quarter, rebound ace on the other, US Open hard court on another quarter, and grass on the other. Furthermore, it's a doubles match, and a person from each country has to play their own quarter -- Murray on grass, Gasquet on clay, Roddick on hard court, Hewitt on Rebound ace.

Now, if they were to go ahead and implement this idea after they heard about it from them in a letter or whatever, I'd have no claim because, um, well, I don't know why. I'm not a lawyer, but I'm pretty sure I wouldn't...

forzainter
05-04-2007, 07:51 AM