PDA

View Full Version : ***PK Redondo 98 Review*** (jedeloach style)

samster
05-05-2007, 04:50 PM
Well, this may be too little, too late, since the U.S. supply of Redondo appears to have been depleted as PK struggles to find a U.S. distributor. But fortunately, I picked up six Redondo's in the past couple months and I have been playing with it for the past 2 months.

About me: I am a self-rated NTRP 3.5 to 4.0. I play once to twice a week. Semiwestern forehand; can hit with topspin or flat. One-hand backhand, love to slice but occasionally hit topspin during matches. I have a long backswing; "too long" according to my instructor. Former high school doubles player; so I love to volley but undoubtedly a step slower now I am 31 y/o and lack of playing time. I have used a wide range of racket headsizes: the smallest being Head Arthur Ashe frame and largest being Donnay Pro 1 Agassi Oversize (blue and neon yello).

My first Redondo was a used one I bought from TW forum from gotwheels (Jim); I got it for my chronic shoulder problems. But as you will see, the Redondo gave me more than just comfort.

PK REDONDO 98 STOCK; KLIP LEGEND 17 AT 58 LBS; YONEX COBALT BLUE OVERGRIP; 1 GAMMA SHOCK BUSTER.

Design/Comfort: 10/10.

This is by far one of the most comfortable frames I have ever used. Yonex RDX 500 users can easily identify with this. Absolutely no arm pain or shoulder pain even when I completely mishit (ie. frame the ball). The frame is flexible but it is flexible at the right places; I will get to this in the serve section.

It is similar to the PK Heritage Type C except it has a maroon paint theme to it. It has a classic look to it. I like it.

Overall: If you want comfort and feel, look no further.

Groundstrokes: 9/10.

I was concerned about the 18x20 string pattern because I thought it would hamper with hitting topspin. Boy, was I wrong. One thing I really like about the Redondo is its versatility. You can hit flat or topspin with the Redondo without problem.