PDA

View Full Version : teaching friend who is a complete noob

backstreetboy
05-07-2007, 07:38 PM
Okay, I have played tennis for about a couple of years but I'm not entirely sure about form and technique and all. I have this friend he just started playing tennis like literally 1 week ago. He has bad hand eye coordination,
and often misses the ball a lot even when I hit it at a slow-moderate pace.
He's thinking of getting lessons but the rate of lessons is highly expensive
(40$/hour), I advised him not to and that I will teach him some stuff myself
but I am growing very impatient, he has no strengths at all, I want him to improve but I'm not sure if I'm the one who should be helping him, I also feel like I am getting worse by playing with him,

have any of you been in this situation? I don't know what to do because he is a very good friend, should I keep playing/teaching him although he is a complete noob?, should I tell him to get lessons to learn how to play before he hits with me and my other friends?

any comments would be grateful thanks guys

zapvor
05-07-2007, 07:41 PM
oh man. i can imagine what the other guys are going to say....i will go first.

its great you are trying to help your buddy out. however, how good are you? i cant tell if you are so good that teaching him is making you real impatient and upset because you have to play so far down, OR you arent that good yourself and unsure how to go about it. if you are real good, you need patience. my coach was very veyr very very patient with me. if you suck, you should have him get lessons. then you two can hit, and maybe he can teach you something new.

Hot Sauce
05-07-2007, 07:45 PM
I know exactly how you feel. You feel like your friend has no potential, and you feel like you're getting worse. I've been in the same position. My advice would be to give him the basics so he can rally and then suggest he take lessons.

backstreetboy
05-07-2007, 07:47 PM