PDA

View Full Version : Why does my tennis vary so much playing with different people

lidation
05-08-2007, 09:13 PM
Hi, Everybody, I'm 30 and I'm new to the tennis game (2 months). And now I love it and started playing it seriously. I play an hour a day everyday these days. And I see my coach once every two weeks. Right now I have a lot to correct for my forehand and backhand. I hit against the wall 4-6 times a week to get consistent strokes and correct my leg, torso and swing.

I can see my progress but it seems that when I play with noobs, my playing seem to be just like what I was 2 months ago, e.g. inconsistent strokes, balls fell on the net every now and then, hitting balls with frame etc.

However, when I play with another friend (3.5 level), I can trade strokes with him many times in a row, and seldom do I hit balls with my frames, etc. Of course, my friend didn't play those strategy with me, he just feed me regular baseline strokes. Also when hitting against the wall or playing with the coach, I know that I improve a lot on my strokes, forehand or backhand.

My frustration here is that in front of my noob friends, I don't seem to have any improvements at all. Maybe their strokes are too inconsistent(fast slow, deep shallow, too high, too low)? Or does it require a lot of skills to be able to keep the game going with noobs and my skills are just not there yet?

zapvor
05-08-2007, 10:08 PM
yea i know what you mean. i am the same. when you play with noobs its more difficult because you dontknow what you are going to get! the ball can be almost anywhere because they have no control whatsoever, so you end up just running everywhere instead of actully hitting. whereas your 3.5 friend can hit it back to you every time nice and easy for you to return.