PDA

View Full Version : looking for some low cost/online/book sources on how to improve??

Euphoria.Soul
05-09-2007, 10:04 PM
hey guys,

I am new to the sport. (well, I did play a few years ago but dropped it until recently).

I really want to improve from my current level (weak backhand, weak control, probably bad form too)

I may get some lessons but I think they are pretty costly. =(

What are some of the things I could do to up my game???

thanks so much for those helping!

Bagumbawalla
05-10-2007, 04:59 PM
Try the library. They have lots of selections and they are FREE.

cliff
05-11-2007, 01:41 PM
Go to www.procomparetennis.net for free video clips of the pro's and loads of free aricles. You can learn loads from watching the worlds best players.

Bottle Rocket
05-11-2007, 01:51 PM
There are two books you should buy.

First, buy the book Tennis Mastery. It is one of othe most comprehensive tennis books I have ever seen. It covers every tennis stroke in great detail with tons of picturs. There is justifcation for everything. It doesn't just explain the right way, but explains the wrong way and the problems with it. It is a great reference and is unlike all other instructional/technique type books I have seen. Things are kept simple and clear while still maintaining all the details.

An added bonus is that the author hangs around this board.

The second is Winning Ugly by Brad Gilbert.