PDA

View Full Version : 10 years to become a really good player?

Dvine
05-10-2007, 11:39 PM
My coach made a comment to me yesterday that sort of made me thinking...

She said: "it takes about 5 years to become a good player and about 10 years to become a REALLY good player"

What do you guys think about this?

Hmm...if it's true then it's bad news for me as I started playing tennis just a year ago, haha!

Guess I'll never become a pro then! hehe...
:lol:

When is it too late to become a pro anyway?

Duzza
05-10-2007, 11:44 PM
Yep sounds about right. On average of course, some vary from others.

thu_huong
05-10-2007, 11:46 PM

She said: "it takes about 5 years to become a good player and about 10 years to become a REALLY good player"

What do you guys think about this?

Hmm...if it's true then it's bad news for me as I started playing tennis just a year ago, haha!

Guess I'll never become a pro then! hehe...
:lol:

When is it too late to become a pro anyway?

Ha ha
just try and maybe I'll be your fan:grin:

Mick
05-10-2007, 11:54 PM
it depends on what you define good and really good to be.

to me, good is 4.0 and really good is better than 4.0 :)

Solat
05-11-2007, 12:23 AM
well look at it more like how many balls hit or hours on court rather then years played.

eg. i have played guitar for 7 years, but at best you would describe my playing as infrequent. I know people who have played 1 year who are twice as good as me because they play every day.

but also tutoring / coaching will dramatically effect progress.

SourmonkeyG
05-11-2007, 12:55 AM
i agree, its actual time spent and not a generalization in terms of years.

oldhacker
05-11-2007, 01:43 AM