PDA

View Full Version : continential grip on serve will help net game as well?

spadesss
05-17-2007, 07:16 AM
i am just learning to serve with continential grip after years of using eastern grip. i was wondering if once i get some consistency using continential grip for serving, will it help me volley better (or correctly) as well.
i have eastern grip for forehand volley and a 2hbh volley, so of course this is not your textbook style.
using continential grip hav felt "weird" for serving especially after 10 plus years of using eastern.
anyway, i wanted to know if continential grip will help me improve my net game as well since i can attack straight to the net after serving and have proper grip on hand.
this may be more of a confidence booster more than anything else as i am coming to terms of doing things right and trying to improve my game after playing little tennis after high school.

skiracer55
05-17-2007, 09:54 AM
...don't forget, just because you serve with a Continental grip doesn't mean you have to serve and volley. Just go to the Continental whenever you get to the net (people will tell you otherwise, but you can actually hit a decent slice half-volley from either side with a Continental).

In fact, you can hit any shot with a Continental, although it tends to be a flat or slice shot on the groundstrokes, which is kind of why it was invented...one grip, one world, one game. People will also tell you you have to have one grip for all groundstrokes. Horse hockey. My base forehand is a semi-Western grip with moderate topspin. If I get stuck running wide, I'll go to a Continental because it's easier to chip it back and keep the rally going. Same thing is true against big servers: try a Continental on the return sometime...

spadesss
05-17-2007, 10:07 AM