PDA

View Full Version : Set in ways and self taught - hopeless?

saltyzoo
09-22-2004, 01:04 PM
I'm a 3.0 player that has come in and out of the sport over the last 20 years. I've had no training at all and have a very unique style. I don't think my style is that far from the norm, but it's definitely just what feels right to me and nothing more. The problem is I basically haven't improved in 20 years.... I'm playing the same game (other than better consistency) than I did 20 years ago (with less energy) ;)

Will lessons do me any good at all considering that I've done things the way I have for so long?

PS> Very nice forum. I've enjoyed reading so far!

thehustler
09-22-2004, 01:12 PM
It depends. Do you want to get better or do you want to stay at the 3.0 level? Personally I'm at the 4.0 level after playing for little over a year and my goal is to be at the 5.0 level within a year or two. Best thing to do is set a goal for yourself and make sure you can reach your goal. I had a few private lessons and the rest is self taught, I'm sure I can improve on things and when I have the money I will take lessons again, but I figure I'm doing good for only playing for one year. If you want to get better you will. It all comes down to what do you want and how far are you willing to go. Good luck.

skuludo
09-22-2004, 03:14 PM
Whether you have a coach or not, each time you set foot on the court you need to have a purpose. Ask yourself how are you going to get to the next level? Do you need a better forehand, backhand, serve, volley, smash, topspin serve, etc? Then ask yourself what you arn't doing in your forehand or any other strokes. If you know what you lack in your strokes you can work on them. You do the exact same thing when you play a set as well.

Bungalo Bill
09-22-2004, 03:35 PM