PDA

View Full Version : How to hit a topsin forehand?!?!

KewlBum8
09-22-2004, 04:08 PM
Hi, I am a beginner-intermediate player. I hit only flat forehands and would like to know how to hit a topspin forehand. Instructions and even pictures would be very helpful. Also, what are the benefits of hitting topspin forehands.

Illegal_edge
09-22-2004, 04:35 PM
To hit a topspin forehand your need to use a low to high swing. By that I mean that you start your swing below the point of contact. Then using a open racquet face swing up and "brush" up the back of the ball and follow through like you would with your flat forehand. Now, there are different grips to use to enhance the spin. Theres the semi-western, which is the most popular in the pro and rec games. Also, there is the full western grip which is popular with dirtballers (clay court players). The full western grip produces the most topspin by far but its difficult to master. I feel the best way to learn the grips is to see them. Heres the link to Tennis.com's grip guid. http://www.tennis.com/instruction/fullstory.sps?inewsid=25693&itype=1481

Bungalo Bill
09-22-2004, 04:56 PM
Start below the ball, and go up through the ball, and finish high. It is that simple.

KewlBum8
09-22-2004, 06:02 PM
what's a closed racquet?

wshhmm
09-22-2004, 06:06 PM
a closed racquet is not an open one. hehe, I don't know how to say it.

Illegal_edge
09-22-2004, 06:24 PM
By open I mean that the racquet strings are facing the net. A closed racquet face is one in which the string are facing the ground.

Rickson
09-22-2004, 08:13 PM
By closed I mean that the racquet strings are facing the net. A closed racquet face is one in which the string are facing the ground.So which is it?

In all seriousness, a closed face, topspin forehand might be difficult for a beginner. I think a square faced topspin fh might be easier to learn. You can hit a topspin forehand with closed face, open face, any face, as long as you swing from low to high on the ball.