PDA

View Full Version : thinking of switching right to left handed (Everything)

cakewalk
09-23-2004, 11:54 PM
Ok you guys are gonna think i'm crazy, but here goes:

I'm left handed, always been left handed w/ everything - write, eat, etc. However, why i don't know, I started playing tennis right handed. I've been playing for ~9-10 years.

now-- due to the fact that left (or right) handed people have their brains wired a certain way, I regret bigtime that I did not start playing left-handed. I have no idea why i did right handed - i think it was because my friend was teaching me strokes the first time, and i just mimicked as he was right-handed.

I have been thinking of switching to left-handed everything, because I think it'll give more headroom for improvement and better/faster learning since the brain is wired differently.

All i can say is right now i have a perfect toss (put it on the same spot repeatedly w/ eyes closed) but think how much better it would be to use that hand for strokes.

should i switch??

thanks

kevhen
09-24-2004, 06:34 AM
Why not alternate sets with each hand? I will play 3.0s with my 3.5 lefty and then my 4.0 righty. They work on consistency against my soft but consistent lefty and then they enjoy the challenge of power dealing with my righty. My lefty is more competitive and really hates to lose. I have learned stuff about opponents playing left-handed and how many people struggle with lack of pace and how relaxing and easy on the body it is to slow the ball down. I also sometimes use my lefty on return of serves when playing righty and I have a nice lefty backhand slice that maybe some day my righty will understand and imitate.

Rickson
09-24-2004, 07:57 AM