PDA

View Full Version : Can you call your own serves out?


Northpaw
05-24-2007, 08:29 PM
I was wondering, are you allowed to call your own serves out? I was playing someone, and I served. It seems pretty obviously out to me, about 4-5 inches, but apparently my opponent didn't see it and hit it back. Now, I didn't know whether or not he was just hitting it back as a fault, or hitting it back as a return. It landed at my feet and I made absolutely no attempt to hit the ball. I tried to explain that I thought the ball was clearly out, but I just let my opponent have the point. Am I allowed to call my own first serves out?

Or, should I just hit any ball that an opponent returns if theres no action telling me its out (a call or a raise of the finger), regardless of how flagrantly out I think it is?

SFrazeur
05-24-2007, 08:42 PM
If your opponent plays it, it's good.

-SF

Dink
05-24-2007, 08:43 PM
I don't think the server should be allowed to call her own serves out.

Suppose a player serves, and the returner cracks the ball down the line for a return winner. If the server is a cheater, she might call her first serve out in order to get another chance to win the point.

drakulie
05-24-2007, 08:47 PM
The only serves I call out on myself are the ones that I see wide down the T.

boojay
05-24-2007, 08:57 PM
i'm definitely not a big fan of being in situations like this. for the most part, i continue playing even if i think my serve was out, but it makes the point a bit awkward and i temporarily lose a bit of my concentration when there's uncertainty involved, especially if it's a really important point. can't do much about it though, since we're all playing amateur tennis.

Solat
05-24-2007, 08:57 PM
you can't call your own serves, but i will confirm balls out if my opponent not sure

LazyAzN
05-24-2007, 10:07 PM
From what I remember after reading tennis etiquette guides (part of a qualification test for lessons), you're not allowed to call your first serve out. But if you clearly see your second serve is out, then you are allowed to call it.

D-man
05-24-2007, 10:25 PM
From what I remember after reading tennis etiquette guides (part of a qualification test for lessons), you're not allowed to call your first serve out. But if you clearly see your second serve is out, then you are allowed to call it.

in the Code I found:

13. Player calls own shots out. With the exception of the first serve, a
player should call against himself or herself any ball the player clearly sees
out regardless of whether requested to do so by the opponent. The prime
objective in making calls is accuracy. All players should cooperate to attain
this objective.

tennis_hand
05-24-2007, 11:08 PM
Unless your opponent is a dumbee, he sees the ball much clearer than you do. Usually those balls you see out could be possibly in because of your viewing angle. So if he doesn't call it, then just play it. If he doesn't call it out but he doesn't play it because he knows it's out, then you should ask him to shout "out". This is because some people like to point using their fingers, and I tell them I don't look at your fingers when playing, so you better make an 'out' call.

mucat
05-24-2007, 11:27 PM
You can ONLY call your 2nd serve out. This is to prevent server from cheating a good return (ie. return winner) out of the returner.

AAAA
05-25-2007, 05:51 AM
You can ONLY call your 2nd serve out. This is to prevent server from cheating a good return (ie. return winner) out of the returner.

But the server to me unfairly loses out if the 1st serve really is out, is not called, and the returner hits a return winner. What would you advise?

LazyAzN
05-25-2007, 08:35 AM
But the server to me unfairly loses out if the 1st serve really is out, is not called, and the returner hits a return winner. What would you advise?

The reason that the first serve is not called out is because it would be harder to see from your perspective if the ball was actually in since you are putting more into the serve than a second serve. If your first serve is fast and flat, a serve that you think is out from your side might be really in, and only the returner can declare it out.

If the returner hits a return winner on a serve that's really out but he thinks its in, and he hit a return winner, nothing can be done about that. It just means you have to learn to always be prepared in case the returner thinks the ball is good.

Geezer Guy
05-25-2007, 08:41 AM
The server CAN call a serve out in a couple of situations:

1) Any second serve.

2) A first serve, but ONLY if the returner attempts (and fails) to return it.

In other words, you can call your own serve out ONLY if it results in absolute no advantage to you.

Otherwise, if you opponent returns the ball without calling it out, play it.

AAAA
05-25-2007, 09:39 AM
The reason that the first serve is not called out is because it would be harder to see from your perspective if the ball was actually in since you are putting more into the serve than a second serve. If your first serve is fast and flat, a serve that you think is out from your side might be really in, and only the returner can declare it out.

If the returner hits a return winner on a serve that's really out but he thinks its in, and he hit a return winner, nothing can be done about that. It just means you have to learn to always be prepared in case the returner thinks the ball is good.

Agree with the second paragraph, play the point.

About the first I disagree about who has the best view. Consider this crude side view of things


Serving side Net_______________ O Receiving side
..............................................^
...............................................I
Gap or no gap between service line and ball


If the O is the ball from my side I can see how far the ball is from the service line because the service line is in front of the ball, from my angle, and so my view is not blocked by the ball. However the reciever cannot see if there is a gap between ball and service line because the ball is blocking his view.

AAAA
05-25-2007, 09:41 AM
Edit : duplicate post

AAAA
05-25-2007, 09:43 AM
The server CAN call a serve out in a couple of situations:

1) Any second serve.

2) A first serve, but ONLY if the returner attempts (and fails) to return it.

In other words, you can call your own serve out ONLY if it results in absolute no advantage to you.

Otherwise, if you opponent returns the ball without calling it out, play it.

Thanks that clears it up for me.

hrstrat57
05-25-2007, 11:31 AM
If my opponent plays a 2nd serve which is clearly out I will usually play it out, say nothing if he wins the point or attempt to concede the the point if I hit a winner.

Probably makes more sense to catch the return and give the point up right away, this thread might make me reconsider...

Rarely comes up in tournament play on TV, though I can recall points conceded by the receiver over ruling the line judge with a good call.

Bottom line I guess is the code would appear to be consistent, if you know it is good call it....if you think it might be out it's also good.....if you are sure a shot is out it's out - no matter who hits it....

tlm
05-26-2007, 08:13 PM
I have seen people play serves that they knew were out, but they take advantage of the fact that the server is not ready for the return because they knew the serve was not in.This way the returner can go for a big shot+then if thier shot is no good they will say the serve was out.

Jyles
05-26-2007, 09:58 PM
The server CAN call a serve out in a couple of situations:

1) Any second serve.

2) A first serve, but ONLY if the returner attempts (and fails) to return it.

In other words, you can call your own serve out ONLY if it results in absolute no advantage to you.

Otherwise, if you opponent returns the ball without calling it out, play it.

i agree with geezer.