PDA

View Full Version : 10 station circuit for tennis fitness (juniors)

OrangeOne
06-17-2007, 05:45 PM
Ok - I'm currently fitness training a group of 8-12 junior players once a week, and I'm keen to do more of this sort of training. My background is that I have been both a fitness instructor and trainer in gyms and also for some sports teams.

Here's the criteria:

Circuit goal: All-round fitness with a focus on some muscle-work (endurance), most (I daresay all) of these kids don't do any resistance-training
Location: A "double" tennis court (two joined courts). Synthetic grass surface. Large grass park available, but often very damp due to winter dew.
Duration: 30 mins including a quick-post-stretch, participants already warm
Stations: 10 stations, intended duration 45 secs
Equipment: As little as possible, certainly no more than can fit easily in a gear bag.
Mode: Probably pair the kids up, giving them someone to work with & help each other out.

Now, the hard bit... the stations themselves. I'm thinking:

1. 5 step sprints: start at fence, 5 step sprint, slow down by net, stop, turn around, repeat.
2. Pushups: Straightforward pushups, 'narrow' for the advanced (tricep focus), from knees for the beginners
3. Side-skipping: Half-length of court side-skipping.
4. Crunches: Abdominals station with different ab exercises for different levels of fitness.
5. Jump-rope: Straightforward jump rope
6. Lunges: Aiming for some leg-muscle-endurance work (maybe should be squats).7. Agility run: Cones placed out in a course, run course & repeat
8. Dumbell row: Targeting some back work (difficult in a non-gym capacity, open to some other ideas here)
9. Star-jumps: An old circuit favourite, simple, easy, etc.
10. Medicine-ball passing: Chest-passing a medicine ball.