PDA

View Full Version : pushups, are they worth it?

J.W. North Tennis91
06-24-2007, 01:05 AM
pushups seem to be the only workout that i have LOTS of trouble in. it takes me too much time and i have to admit, its really hard. my question is, are they worth having it on my daily workout plan or should i spend that time running more on an extreme high incline on a treadmill?? which will help for tennis more?

diggler
06-24-2007, 02:46 AM
I'm not an expert, but you would think push ups are good. They take no time at all to do. If you find them hard, cheat. Do the push ups with your knees on the ground. A lot easier to do. Do them in sets. Do some until you're tired, so a different exercise eg situps and do more push ups. 3 sets should be enough.

Ronaldo
06-24-2007, 05:25 AM
pushups seem to be the only workout that i have LOTS of trouble in. it takes me too much time and i have to admit, its really hard. my question is, are they worth having it on my daily workout plan or should i spend that time running more on an extreme high incline on a treadmill?? which will help for tennis more?

Push-up on a wall or a table so your legs are lower than your shoulders. Or if push-ups bother your hands and wrists, use those push-up stands or a pr. of dumbbells. Or push-up on a physioball.

ollinger
06-24-2007, 10:47 AM
I don't see how pushups would be of much value with one's tennis game. Also, the motion is similar to the dumbbell "fly" exercise which some othopedists believe might increase the risk of rotator cuff problems (one of the last things you need for your tennis game).

stevekim8
06-24-2007, 10:58 AM
of course pushups help.
if you can't do it
start out with your knees on the ground

Mikael
06-24-2007, 11:46 AM