PDA

View Full Version : Why didn't Roger challenge at 4-5, 2nd set


roysid
07-09-2007, 02:24 AM
In 2nd set, at 4-5 when it was 15 all, Nadal made a return which seemed out and when Federer hit the volley, Nadal made a cross court passing winner. Federer was startled and lost the game and hence the set.

Then it showed on replay, that the return was out. If Fed had challenged, he should have won the game.

He might have won the 2nd set tiebreak. Match could have been over in 3 sets.

fednad
07-09-2007, 04:09 AM
In 2nd set, at 4-5 when it was 15 all, Nadal made a return which seemed out and when Federer hit the volley, Nadal made a cross court passing winner. Federer was startled and lost the game and hence the set.

Then it showed on replay, that the return was out. If Fed had challenged, he should have won the game.

He might have won the 2nd set tiebreak. Match could have been over in 3 sets.

Yeah - i too noticed it. Perhaps. I have the explanation.
I guess, to challenge a call, you need to stop the point right away. Fed ended up with another shot in the point rather than stopping the point and making the challenge. So, later on he had no way to ask for a challenge and he even showed his frustration to the umpire asking him why he did not call the ball out (that's what i understand).

roysid
07-09-2007, 04:14 AM
Yeah - i too noticed it. Perhaps. I have the explanation.
I guess, to challenge a call, you need to stop the point right away. Fed ended up with another shot in the point rather than stopping the point and making the challenge. So, later on he had no way to ask for a challenge and he even showed his frustration to the umpire asking him why he did not call the ball out (that's what i understand).
That makes sense. Instead of making a challenge which may show the ball in by a whisker, he would rather hit a good shot. He was on a strong position in the point.