PDA

View Full Version : Laserfibre question

drop shot
03-15-2004, 10:07 PM
I have been looking at some of the lower end Laserfiber machines lately and they look pretty solid. Can anyone who has one shed some light as to the difference in their drop weight system compared to something like Gammas drop weights? Also Gaines and Steve Huff what are your opinions on the Laserfiber?

bcaz
03-15-2004, 10:59 PM
This is interesting. I have an MS200TT and I'm very happy with it. LaserFibre claims, and many other attest to the fact, that they have the only constant-pull drop-weight machines. I'm not an engineer. I talked to a stringer tonight and he woofed that it's just bogus marketing and that electronics (he was stringing on a Gamma w/electronic head at the time) were the only true constant-pull machines. I happen to believe the LaserFibre/Stringway claims, but I'd like to hear more.

Engineers out there (I know you're out there), speak up! FWIW, I'm getting good, consistent results with my stringing machine.

hangzhou
03-15-2004, 11:19 PM
As I mentioned before, according to laserfibre machines' mechanism, the pull force should be constant no matter where the arm resides. It should only be a function of drop weight location on the arm and not a function of arm angle. There might be small deviation if the string is not clamped correctly, or angle is way too big.

bcaz
03-15-2004, 11:35 PM
Thanks, Hangzhou -- can you explain how or why?

David Pavlich
03-15-2004, 11:48 PM
Not an engineer, but it would be interesting to place a calibrator on any drop weight and fool around with the drop arm angle to see what, if any, deviation there is.

Ok you drop weight guys. Let's see a scientific study on your machines. It would shed some light on a pervasive topic. I know I'd like to see it.

David

hangzhou
03-15-2004, 11:50 PM
It's tough without using picture. Here is the picture: http://www.stringway.com/dwm.htm (wrong link before, sorry).