PDA

View Full Version : Elbow Pain

phucng_10
07-23-2007, 07:38 PM
Well, today while I was practicing some serves and out of nowhere on the 15th or 16th serve, my elbow started hurting. It was like every time I tried to flex it, it would hurt a lot. Do you know the cause of this elbow pain? It feels like my bones are rubbing against each other or something, but I'm sure I don't have arthritis. :-?

drhopz
07-23-2007, 08:31 PM
Stiff strings or racket maybe? I got tennis elbow from serving with poly-gut.

phucng_10
07-23-2007, 10:09 PM
I think I have tennis elbow. Strings are Gosen 17g @ 60lbs. Stiffness on the racquet is only 60.

Bottle Rocket
07-23-2007, 11:29 PM
I think there are a lot of cases, probably the majority of elbow problems discussed on this website, which are NOT tennis elbow or golfers elbow. I think this is one of those cases. Obviously I'm not a doctor though, but way too many people claim all elbow pains to be tennis elbow.

It is hard to say exactly what it is, but there is one thing I can say for sure. Don't touch your racket for at least a weak. Do a search on this website about elbow problems and read about forearm, wrist, and elbow activities which can get the blood flowing. After the time off, you might try hitting a little bit to see how it feels. Seeing a doctor is highly recommended.

Did the pain start on a clean serve? Were you hitting them all clean? Did you mis-hit any or completely shank the ball? What kind of racket are you using? Have you ever had any coaching or instruction on your serve?

Does it still hurt now? Does it hurt when you hold your racket or squeeze the handle? Does it hurt when you swing? Does it only hurt when you contact the ball?

Hewitt Aussie
07-24-2007, 03:14 PM