PDA

View Full Version : Crossfire 18 - what can I expect ?

10-14-2004, 08:41 AM
I have a set of Ashaway Crossfire (kevlar 18g mains with synthetic 16 crosses) to use. I've never used kevlar before either by itself or in a hybrid. I could put it in any of:
- Fischer VT98 Pro
- Dunlop MW200G 95
- Slazenger X1

1) Should I bother?
2) If yes, which stick would it play best in + what tension?
3) when the synthetic crosses break can I just have the crosses restrung or does the Kevlar have to go too?

Thanks.

Kick Serve
10-14-2004, 11:03 AM
If you're going to try kevlar then Ashaway is the one to try. It's way better than Prince Problend. I received a set of Crossfire 18 free from Ashaway after trying their Monogut. I strung up one of my Volkl Tour 10 MP's with it. I strung the kevlar mains at 52 lbs. and the synthetic crosses at 59 lbs. Here's what happened...

Spin, spin and more spin! There is just something about kevlar that enables you to impart an insane amount of spin. The 5.0 player I was hitting against said my forehands were jumping up like kick serves. Power is really low, but I usually overhit a lot so it actually helped me. The sound is unique as well - it's a deep canon-like thud that can be quite satisfying if you like to hit hard. Also, the Ashaway was surprisingly softer than I would expect a kevlar hybrid to be. But alas, after three days of hitting, my elbow started to get a little tender. This was surprising because the strings don't feel harsh at all. I've stopped using them for awhile, but I think I'll try them again in another week or so to see if it was the strings causing the tenderness. The strings show no wear or movement after the three hitting sessions. It's really durable stuff. I'll probably always keep one racquet strung with it just in case I find myself needing extra control and spin in a match.