PDA

View Full Version : just curious what is it like to play with natural gut?

RedGinseng
10-21-2004, 03:24 AM
I once asked a local dealer how much natural gut was, just out of curiosity and he said it was over 60 dollars. I was lilke :shock: I gave him 18 dollars for a Gosen OG Sheep Micro. :cry: I will never buy anything from him again. Anyway I'm still a student so I can't afford natural gut but I just want to know how you feel when you hit the ball with natural gut. Does it dramatically improve your game? You feel like heaven when you use it? I will stick to cheap string for a long time but one day I want to give it a try to see how good it is.

sorry if this has been posted before.

Tennis Guy
10-21-2004, 04:52 AM
:? Why wont you buy anything from him again?

mark rodgers
10-21-2004, 05:58 AM
It's getting around Christmas time and parents are always at a loss as to what to get the kids. Start dropping major hints for a stringing machine. Spend your hard earned $18 on better string. Add a few more buck for gut and then you can find out for yourself if gut is tennis heaven.

Gaines Hillix
10-21-2004, 09:21 AM
IMO, nat gut doesn't feel that much different than a good multifibre syn gut string. I've used it as a full job and in several hybrids and I have never found it to be head and shoulders above other setups. There are others that will using nothing else, but I think for the average player it's a waste of money. The exception is for people with tennis elbow. They may not be able to play with anything else. But, you'll never know unless you try it for your self.

ohplease
10-21-2004, 09:39 AM