PDA

View Full Version : I'm racquet crazy! Help me.

hades
08-13-2007, 11:35 AM
Ok, I am a racquet junkie who cannot decide what to do. I am in my 40's (yes old by TT standards) and started playing about 3 years ago and am a 3.5. I have been told my serve and forehand is 4.0 while my backhand is 3.0.

I started playing with a Volkl Cat 3 and as I improved moved to the V1 Classic. Now I am playing with the Volkl Tour 10ve and Dnx 9. The pros at my club say I need to stick with the thinner beam racquets but I have less power but better control. My problem is I keep trying racquets like the DNX V1 and am trying the Becker V1 MP & OS. The becker V1 OS is great at serving and I love the power but I do not have a lot of top spin so contol is an issue. When I play with the DNX 9 for instance my control is good but depth and power is a concern. Pros keep saying less is more and it's hard when we love power and speed. I keep wavering between playing with a tweener or players racquet. I see a lot of people believe that below a 4.0 or 4.5 should not be playing with a players type racquet but I am getting better results with this type of racquet. When I go to the mid or OS I get the power but not as consistant. Should I try sticking with the OS type and improve or is the players racquet ok for some below a 4.0/4.5. I thought that when the Becker 11 light is availalbe that might be an option. A lighter players racquet that might offer control and power.

So for the long post and confusion but you can see it's a hard decision because people are different and you will get different views on this subject which makes me crazy and wonder If I will ever make a final decison and stick with it.

aidenous
08-13-2007, 12:40 PM