PDA

View Full Version : About coaches...

lidation
08-15-2007, 10:45 AM
I have a coach since I started playing tennis 5 months ago. I have met him like 10 times so far. He was really good in getting me onboard this game in developing proper forms. However, the past few lessons I don't think I need him that much. During our lessons, we basically just play games and then he will point out my errors. I know all the errors he points out because from time to time I video myself playing and then watch myself in my computer. I have invest close to $300 in buying coaching DVDs so I know where I went wrong mostly. It just takes time to get me to the correct form through practice.

My coach is good but now I'm wondering whether it's worth the cost of the lessons.

Vision84
08-15-2007, 12:37 PM
Perhaps you should cut out lessons for a while and get a hitting partner about your same level or a bit stronger to play matches against.

Jonny S&V
08-15-2007, 12:39 PM
Perhaps you should cut out lessons for a while and get a hitting partner about your same level or a bit stronger to play matches against.

I second this.

burosky
08-16-2007, 08:49 AM
If you are able to identify the wrong mechanics you are doing and able to correct it yourself, you probably can forgo the coaching until such time as you need it again. Much like anything else you pay for, if the perceived value is lost, you will have second thoughts about why you continue to pay for it.

Mountain Ghost
08-16-2007, 09:15 AM
Knowing what you are doing wrong from a video and having someone see it and correct it in action are worlds apart. There are many times you will be making mistakes that you won’t be aware of. Why do you think playing pros (and even advanced amateurs) have coaches? For companionship?