PDA

View Full Version : Sampras played like crap and got away with it?

plain jane
08-17-2007, 11:28 AM
When Fed is playing crap against anyone not in the top 5 (excluding Roddick) he still manages to win. People are always comparing Fed to Sampras (I am new to the sport so i only watch clips of sampras, never saw a live match), but did sampras win matches playing crap too? Is is true the competition is lacking now versus then?

drakulie
08-17-2007, 11:37 AM
No, the competition is not lacking, and no Sampras did not win playing like crap.

flash9
08-17-2007, 11:54 AM
When Pete's serve was clicking there were times he would pull out a win even when he was not playing his best tennis. But, playing like crap is a whole different matter. That would imply he was not doing anything well including serving which was his biggest weapon. :D

DashaandSafin
08-17-2007, 11:54 AM
Troll alert..

plain jane
08-17-2007, 12:04 PM
Troll alert..

Fed is one of the few players i have seen so far that is actually like to watch play. But i also like to watch a good match. If fed is playing crap and wins then that means that the other guy is playing worse and the match cant be that great. i hate to see a match where someone chokes away a win. i was just wondering if people did that with sampras too.

DashaandSafin
08-17-2007, 12:09 PM
Um...people are saying that Sampras's competition was actually better than Federer's. Which I disagree with.

Anyway, Sampras had plently of close matches and losses. Just look at his win-loss record.

plain jane
08-17-2007, 12:15 PM
Please, i am not trying to dispute who faced better or worst competition, just if players had mental blocks against sampras like they seem to have against federer that they cant seem to beat a less than stellar federer.

VGP
08-17-2007, 12:15 PM